Church, Faith, God

Shepherds of God’s Flock

What it means to be a shepherd of God’s flock? What it takes to be a good shepherd? What are the dangers the shepherds should be aware of?

In the gospel of John chapter 10 we read about Jesus the Good Shepherd. “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

“I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. The hired hand is not the shepherd and does not own the sheep. So when he sees the wolf coming, he abandons the sheep and runs away. Then the wolf attacks the flock and scatters it. The man runs away because he is a hired hand and cares nothing for the sheep.

“I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me— just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep. I have other sheep that are not of this sheep pen. I must bring them also. They too will listen to my voice, and there shall be one flock and one shepherd. The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life—only to take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.” (John 10:10-18)

Christ is the good Shepherd; many who were not thieves, yet were careless in their duty, and by their neglect the flock was much hurt. Bad principles are the root of bad practices. The Lord Jesus knows whom he has chosen, and is sure of them; they also know whom they have trusted, and are sure of Him. Verse 18 shows us the grace of God in Jesus Christ; since none could demand his life of him, he laid it down of himself for our redemption. He offered himself to be the Saviour. And the necessity of our case calling for it, he offered himself for the Sacrifice. He was both the offerer and the offering, so that his laying down his life was his offering up himself. From hence it is plain, that he died in the place and stead of men; to obtain the pardon of their sin. Our Lord laid not his life down for his doctrine, but for his sheep.

In John 21:15-17, Jesus reinstated Peter to be the first shepherd of his flock. “When they had finished eating, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you love me more than these?” “Yes, Lord,” he said, “you know that I love you.” Jesus said, “Feed my lambs.”

Again Jesus said, “Simon son of John, do you love me?” He answered, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.” Jesus said, “Take care of my sheep.”

The third time he said to him, “Simon son of John, do you love me?” Peter was hurt because Jesus asked him the third time, “Do you love me?” He said, “Lord, you know all things; you know that I love you.” Jesus said, “Feed my sheep.”

The word rendered “feed” in verse 15 means the care afforded by furnishing nutriment for the flock. In the next verse there is a change in the Greek, and the word rendered feed denotes rather the care, guidance, and protection which a shepherd extends to his flock. By the use of both these words, it is supposed that our Saviour intended that a shepherd was both to offer the proper food for his flock and to govern it. The expression is taken from the office of a shepherd, with which the office of a minister of the gospel is frequently compared. It means, as a good shepherd provides for the wants of his flock, so the minister in the church is to furnish food for the soul, or so to exhibit truth that the faith of believers may be strengthened and their hope confirmed.

The church is often compared to a flock. See John 10:1-16. In verse 15, the expression my lambs undoubtedly refers to the tender and the young in the Christian church; to those who are young in years and in Christian experience. The Lord Jesus saw, what has been confirmed in the experience of the church, that the success of the gospel among men depended on the care which the ministry would extend to those in early life. It is in obedience to this command that Sunday schools have been established, and no means of fulfilling this command of the Saviour have been found so effectual as to extend support to those schools. It is not merely, therefore, the privilege, it is the solemn duty of ministers of the gospel to favour and frequent those schools.

Henceforward, Peter was one of the most firm and unwavering of all the apostles, and thus fully justified the appellation of a rock, which the Saviour by anticipation had given him. He exhorted the elders of the early church to be good shepherds: “Be shepherds of God’s flock that is under your care, watching over them–not because you must, but because you are willing, as God wants you to be; not pursuing dishonest gain, but eager to serve; not lording it over those entrusted to you, but being examples to the flock.” (1 Peter 5:2-3)

In verse 8, Peter warned the shepherds of the early church to “Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.” Christ also warned his disciples in Matthew 24:24-25: “For false messiahs and false prophets will appear and perform great signs and wonders to deceive, if possible, even the elect. See, I have told you ahead of time.”

A quick observation of the happenings in our world today reveals that lawlessness is on the rise. Such lawlessness will continue and increase (2 Timothy 3:13), and when the man of lawlessness (see 2 Thessalonians 2:1–12) appears on the scene, he will be welcomed with open arms. The Antichrist is given the title “man of lawlessness” because he will oppose in every way the biblical God and His law. He will be completely lawless. He will enter the temple of God to set himself up as “god” and demand worship (2 Thessalonians 2:4). By possessing and controlling the Antichrist, Satan is worshipped in the temple where the biblical God is to be worshipped. Those who have rejected the true Prince of Peace, Jesus Christ, will fall for the Antichrist’s empty promises. It is vitally important that each of us is sure that we have accepted Jesus Christ as our personal Savior and are living for Him. “Be on guard! Be alert! You do not know when that time will come” (Mark 13:33).

Let us ask God to guide us on our life’s journey with the song “Shepherd Me O God”:

About RockofFaith

I'm a Christian who likes to share about my faith.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Rock of Faith

Archives

Support Us

We hope you can make a small donation to help offset our operating costs.
Thank You and God Bless!

Make a Donation Button
